Changes ahead, and then not any more.

I haven’t said this lately: thanks for reading my blog.  I always love it when you comment, but I still have a special place in my heart for you lurkers out there.  Writing posts for myself is fun, but knowing that you are out there reading (and hopefully, enjoying) makes it even better. 

You know I can’t leave anything untouched in January.  So I’ve been thinking about how I can make this blog even more exciting and friendly. 

In December I read Simple Blogging, and e-book by Rachel Meeks of Small Notebook.  It was really interesting to learn how a “real” blogger approaches her writing and web-mastering.  Some of her advice didn’t really apply to a hobby blog like this one, but she did have a few tips that I’m trying to incorporate. 

First, I’d like to make this page more consistent.  I want to give my blog a name and a look that I can get “just-so” and then leave alone.  But I don’t think I like my current page enough to let it be the one.  So I’ll be tweaking a little…or a lot…but once I get this page looking the way I like it, I’m leaving it.  For.  Ev.  Er. 

I’ve also embraced the challenge to think through the purpose of my blog and to let that purpose inform the content of my posts.  I don’t have to try to be like the many other blogs that I read and enjoy; I get to figure out what I like to talk about and stick to that. 

So, stick around, and hopefully you’ll enjoy a more consistent and more purposeful, but still-the-same-underneath blog in 2011.

4 responses to “Changes ahead, and then not any more.

  1. I am never happy with my blog’s look for very long. But the way it is set up right now is hard to change, so that keeps it more constant.

  2. Oh, and I think you should add a delicious feed too. I would love to know what you read and find interesting. :)

  3. I’m a proud lurker! =) Being a first year teacher hasn’t left a lot of free time in my schedule, but I make sure to get on and catch up on your last 3-4 posts!

  4. Carolyn Dickinson

    I am a lurker, mostly. I LOVE Small Notebook and the clarity with which she writes. You are an inspiration with your goals and aspirations, and I love reading your writing and wry humor! So, good luck with the resolutions before mentioned, and more good luck for the new year’s blogging efforts. I’ll be reading!

Leave a Reply

