Thoughts on Womanhood

This is my favorite quote from the Bridget Jones book. It’s been resonating with me lately…

“Being a woman is worse than being a farmer- there is so much harvesting and crop spraying to be done- legs to be waxed, underarms shaved, eyebrows plucked, feet pumiced, skin exfoliated and moisturized, spots cleansed, roots dyed, eyelashes tinted, nails filed, cellulite massaged, stomach muscles exercised.

“The whole performance is so highly tuned you only need to neglect it for a few days for the whole thing to go to seed. Sometimes I wonder what I would be like if left to revert to nature– with a full beard and handlebar mustache on each shin, Dennis Healey eyebrows, face a graveyard of dead skin cells, spots erupting, long curly fingernails, blind as a bat and stupid runt of species as no contact lenses, flabby body flobbering around.

“Ugh, ugh. Is it any wonder girls have no confidence?”

9 responses to “Thoughts on Womanhood

  1. We all think those thoughts occasionally and hate ourselves. Does it take too much time to take care of ourselves? How much is too much? Is it worth it?

    Your answers depend on your own self-confidence and self-esteem as well as how you view yourself as a child of God.

    Personally, I think long curly fingernails are a bit over the edge. Reminds me of the photo of that I saw in Guinness Book of World Records a few years ago. Some old Chinese guy had fingernails about two feet long!

  2. Ah, the wisdom of Bridget Jones. That is a bit of a sickening picture she draws, but I guess it would be somewhat true if carried out. Gross.

  3. I occasionally have to put myself in makeover mode and get a lot of those beauty requirements done at once (often a Saturday morning routine).

    Shower, shave, clip/file my nails, pluck my eyebrows, lotion from head to toe, do a face mask, etc.

    My daily routine is quite abbreviated. Probably more than it should be, actually.

  4. ah, this is so true lindsey.

  5. There are some nights when I am doing good to use water and a washrag to take mascara off of my eyes. Thus the “spots erupting” all over my face.

  6. Great quote. How funny! Guys don’t know the half of it.

  7. I saw the fingernail guy too. He was carrying it around in a burlap bag. I think he was Indian, though.

    Who’s Margie?

    P.S. I need a copy of the play.

  8. Mom- 1. Long fingernails are gross. 2. Margie is a friend of a blogging friend. She loves to organize like I do! 3. I’ll get on it.

  9. Yay for blogger friends!

Leave a Reply

