Mom is always right.

Wishing my mom a happy Mother’s Day with a tribute to some of her most memorable advice, along with all the things I wish I’d have let her teach me instead of learning it myself the hard way:

  • Cheaper by the Dozen is worth reading.
  • Making the bed works better when you put the top sheet on upside-down, so it looks pretty when you fold it over.
  • Sometimes the best remedy is a cold Dr. Pepper on ice. If that doesn’t work, take vitamins.
  • Stephen Andrew the First was not a good match for me, for exactly the reasons that she said. (Unfortunately, this is one of those that I had to figure out for myself, and I wasted a lot of time getting there!)
  • Latin is more useful than German, unless you’re going to Germany.
  • Keep a spare blanket in the car, because you never know when you might need it.
  • You can pick your friends, you can pick your nose, but you can’t pick your friend’s nose.
  • Keep cash in your wallet, even if it’s just a little bit. You’ll feel better prepared to face the world.
  • Sleep on your problems- they’ll be less scary in the morning.
  • Never do something once you’re not willing to do a thousand times.
  • (not really advice, but one of my favorite mom-isms) I could have took that with a poke in the eye.
  • Just because you’re married doesn’t mean you have to be blind.
  • Life is too short to sleep on cheap sheets.

Laura, Alan, and Leslie- help me add to my list! The rest of you, feel free to add your own mom’s best advice.

4 responses to “Mom is always right.

  1. Carolyn Dickinson

    Never date someone you wouldn’t consider marrying.

  2. that picture is disgusting.

    and. i do n’t think mom ever said that money one…you just made it up.

    favorite mom quote. (talking about sawyer to a non-loster) “you just can’t tell from that picture but he really is very cute. especially with his clothes off…”

  3. I am enjoying your rendition of what I say…but for the record: I could have stood that in my eyeball.” And it’s actually a Papaw quote; I stole it from him. Along with other colorful quips such as “It’s colder than a well-digger’s fanny!” and (answering the telephone) “Kelly’s mule-barn, head-mule speaking.” Now you see where I got my great wit.

  4. My mom always told me, “Don’t wear out your welcome”

Leave a Reply

