Simple ’til Six

Any of you who know me and/or follow this blog already know that I am full of good intentions and horrible follow-through when it comes to a healthy lifestyle. But my lack of follow-through has never failed to dampen my enthusiasm for all the latest ideas for dieting/weight loss and exercise (even to this extent:  “You lost fifteen pounds when you got mono?  Are you still contagious enough to give it to me?”). Curves has been going okay for me in terms of exercise, but a recent article in Reader’s Digest renewed my interest in more healthy eating. The article features an “anti-girth, pro-earth” diet; I’m definitely anti-girth, and I’m trying to incorporate some reasonable “green” habits into my life, so I was intrigued.

The basic premise is that reducing one’s consumption of animal products, especially meat, is a healthy eating choice that also cuts down dependence on industrial meat production, which can be kind of nasty when you get into the details. The author adopted an eating routine that he called “Simple ’til Six”: eating “nearly vegan” until dinner time, and then eating a “normal” dinner, including dessert. The application for readers is not to adopt the exact same routine, necessarily, but “to eat less of certain foods and more of others — specifically, plants, as close to their natural state as possible.”

The author’s testimony of weight loss and improved health, combined with an appeal to my semi-green sympathies, led me to consider how I could adopt some of the same principles. I thought I could 1) Cook at home more, period. 2) Try to eat less meat and fewer carbs for lunch and mid-day snacks, and 3) Cook one vegetarian meal per week. Combined with my post-Thanksgiving commitment to more Curves, I expected to see the pounds start just falling off of my lower half.

So I Googled vegetarian recipes at work the next day, and I ran into my first dilemma: I didn’t like most of the ingredients involved in the “hearty” looking meals. I started to review the list of non-animal foods that I like:

  • bread
  • chocolate
  • Kix cereal
  • broccoli
  • potatoes
  • chewing gum
  • avocados

So, when I trim down that list to cut down on my simple carbohydrates and sugar, I’m left eating broccoli and avocados for every meal. It sounds boring even to me, and Stephen is definitely not going to go for it. So, I’m stumped. Either I stick with my current, “pro-girth, anti-earth” eating habits or I have to start trying some new veggies. It’s a very tough call, and the jury is still out on which direction I’m going to go. I’m sure you’ll be hearing about it either way.

4 responses to “Simple ’til Six

  1. 🙂 as I read this, i found myself eating chocolate chip cookie dough left over from what Allie made our group tonight…. and glancing down at the clock… 5:40… dang it!

    I’ll just assume you meant 6:00 Mountain or Pacific time. =)

  2. You like rice, asparagus, corn, and potatoes right? Three of those are carbs, but at least it’s some more options. 🙂

  3. I am going to throw my 2 cents at this one. First off, no animated chick is going to tell me what to do; You are sir indeed a nugget and I will enjoy consuming you. Secondly, if you want to eat carbs just eat carb smart! For instance, I have read that red potatoes are much better than others, eating whole grains over white.Maybe take a look at some foods on the glycemic index and see where they stand.

  4. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

Leave a Reply

