Two very different things I’ve enjoyed lately…

I love ice cream.  And just when I thought I could not love it any more, I discovered Blue Bell favorites on a stick…covered in chocolate.  Dee-licious!  The mint chocolate chip is the only one that I have tried, and since it’s a single serving of perfection, I haven’t felt a need to try any other flavor.  But you might like to!

On a completely different subject, we have been reading to Abigail (and to each other) from the Jesus Storybook Bible.  It’s really good!  Sometimes I keep reading to myself even after we have finished the story for the day.  The pictures are charming, and the overall format is very similar to most Bible story books, but what really makes this version stand out is the way that it points out how every Old Testament story is pointing to Jesus.  How theologically sophisticated our little girl is going to be!  For example, here is the conclusion to the story of the Ten Commandments:

‘God promises to always look after you,’ Moses said. ‘Will you love him and keep these rules?’

‘We can do it! Yes! We promise!’

But they were wrong.  They couldn’t do it.  No matter how hard they tried, they couldn’t keep God’s rules all the time.

God knew they couldn’t.  And he wanted them to know it, too.

Only one person could keep all the rules.  And many years later God would send Him–to stand in their place and be perfect for them.

Because the rules couldn’t save them.

Only God could save them.

Check out both of these great products!  Pure sweetness for the taste buds and for the soul!

4 responses to “Two very different things I’ve enjoyed lately…

  1. That book sounds awesome! So does the ice cream (which, alas, I no longer enjoy due to diabetes.) Enjoy!!

  2. Last year one of our school families bought the Jesus Storybook Bible for all the classrooms and one for the library. It is the best one I’ve seen. But the Beginner’s Bible is also a favorite; it has those quirky cartoon pictures that pre-schoolers always enjoy. 🙂

  3. i love those ice cream bars!

  4. Neat! I’ll have to get that book for Sophie… and the ice cream looks yummy too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

