There’s an illustration in here somewhere…

As those of you who are my Facebook friends have seen roly-poly proof, Abby is turning into quite the little fatty.  At her two-month visit, the doctor said she wasn’t even on the growth chart for a two-month old!

So you won’t be surprised to hear that Abby takes her eating very seriously.  Occasionally she’ll feel hungry before it’s time to eat or while we’re driving in the car.  When hunger strikes and I can’t feed Abby immediately, she wails with such an urgency and persistence that I feel like I should call CPS on myself.

Many times I have tried to reason with my hungry little one.  “Abigail.” I say out loud in my calm and sensible voice.  “Have I ever let you go hungry?  Have I ever not given you food when you needed it?  Why would this time be any different?”

But every three hours, she cries as if she’s afraid that this will be the time I’ve forgotten that she needs to eat.

I’ll try not to belabor the point, but I’ve reminded myself of little Abby as the year draws to a close and once again Stephen and I start to look at the pages of a brand new calendar.  Where will we live?  Where will we work?  Will we be able to make the money we need this year?  These are our annual questions, and once again I find my stomach in knots as the answers remain unknown.  What mother would refuse to feed her daughter?  What father would give his son a rock when he asks for bread?  God has never failed to notice our needs.  Why would this year be any different?

One response to “There’s an illustration in here somewhere…

  1. Oh man, I cannot TELL you how much parenting has taught me about God’s love or provision. And now that I see the defiance creeping up in my kiddo, I begin to realize just how amazing GRACE is!

Leave a Reply

