A Triumph of Optimism over Experience

I think this phrase actually comes from a quote about second marriages, but I think about it now when I look out my back window and see this:

Yes, that’s right, the Black-Thumb Gardener strikes again.  What can I say?  I was inspired by reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.  Despite the dismal results of my last garden (all plants, even herbs, reduced to dry twigs within weeks), I felt confident that I too could be an Earth Mama after all.  Stephen has been pining for his childhood on the farm lately anyway, so he was happy to oblige me by setting up my lovely container garden.  Although he’d prefer to be raising chickens, Farmer Stephen was a good sport to plant my tomatoes, jalapenos, bell peppers, and strawberries.

When I killed my herbs, most people guessed that I didn’t water them enough.  When I would protest that I watered them every day, these “experts” quickly changed their tune and said that I must have over-watered.  So I have no idea how much water is “just right,” but Abby and I have been enjoying a field trip (ha!) into the back yard every afternoon to feed the dogs and water the garden.

This year’s garden is my test run.  If all goes well, I’ll make 60% from-my-garden salsa.  And then, I might try some even more ambitious crops next year!

(Full disclosure: the picture is not actually my garden.  Mine is very cute, and I will let you see it sometime, but right now I don’t want to bother with the camera and the yard is in need of some grooming anyway.)

5 responses to “A Triumph of Optimism over Experience

  1. haha, I was looking at that picture thinking, “where did they put these that has that kind of fence with a road in the background.” oh, not your garden…

  2. You’ll have to keep us updated about the progress. I am currently facing the same water dilemma! My mom brought us two housewarming potted plants which have not been a success. Last week I was sure the wind had been the final nail in the coffin when I brought the clover inside with horizontal rather than vertical stems. They’re coming back though, right as the mums are about as brittle and dry as firewood. 😦

  3. Laura, I was wondering the same thing…

  4. Shows how observant I am…I have actually SEEN Lindsey’s actual garden and I did not even notice. I was just thinking, “Wow! Those veggies are growing nicely! “

  5. So far, none of my plants are dead! I even have tiny little tomatoes budding. But several of my plants have yellowish leaves, which my master-gardener father-in-law says is a sign of over-watering. So I’m backing off on the “field” trips for now.

Leave a Reply

