From the Archives: Do As I Aspire, Not As I Do

I don’t know why I can’t get a blog written these days.  We’ve been busy, Abby is cutting four teeth all at once, and she sticks her fingers in an outlet or climbs up into a chair the second I take my eyes off of her.  Anyway, that’s no excuse.  But, in the interest of keeping things, well, interesting, around here, I’ve dug a post I like out of the archives of the super-secret baby blog that I kept for Abby back when she was known as Turniphead.  I read through a few of these old posts the other night and had a great time reminiscing about this time last summer!  So, without further ado…

**********************************************************************************************************************************************

August 11, 2009

Normally I feel like I err on the prideful side of sin, being more prone to consider myself better than I actually am rather than wallowing in self-loathing.  But nothing has made me consider my own shortcomings like the thought of TH growing up to be just like me.

I hope that he lives a more healthy lifestyle–that he will enjoy a variety of fruits and vegetables, and will not be enslaved to regular giant servings of ice cream and soda.  I hope that he is physically active and finds pleasure in sports and activities, rather than dreading the thought of anthing even slightly exerting.

I hope that he lives more simply– that he will be able to live and function in our fast-paced, technology-centric culture, but that his pleasure would come from more classic sources- books, nature, conversation, projects.  I hope that his imagination will be vivid and active and that he will not need rapid movements on a screen to be entertained.

I hope that he will live connected to things that are real–that he will know where food comes from, that he will consider the costs of his consumption, that he will want to avoid being wasteful.  I hope that when he considers his network of relationships, his mind goes to friends and family who love him and who are involved in his daily life, not just the people who pop up on his Facebook news feed.  I hope that he can recognize more plants and animals than corporate logos, that he can tell you more about favorite characters in books than his Webkinz account, that he marks time with  family rituals and activities rather than television programming.

I hope that his mind will not be lazy– that he will not be afraid to grapple with hard questions, that he will read hard books, that he will seek after new ideas and not settle for easy answers.  I hope that he will love to learn and that he will find joy in mental exertion.  I want him to find more pleasure in The Chronicles of Narnia (THE BOOK!  NOT THE MOVIES!) than in Charlie the Unicorn.  I want him to recognize that Charlie the Unicorn is stupid and unworthy of his time and attention.

I hope that TH has a healthy view of his body and place in the world.  I want him to be un-self-conscious…not thinking of himself too little or too much.  I hope he does not obsess about whether or not he is attractive, or whether or not people want to be his friend, or whether or not he is sounding totally awkard in conversation.  I want him to be comfortable just being himself, without always second-guessing his behaviors.

I hope that he will embrace God and a life of faith; that he will not struggle to believe.  I hope that as a child, he will love the stories of Jesus and the Bible, and that he will see God in all that is good, true, and beautiful.  I want him to grow up with an appreciation for his place in the history of the church–that he stands on the shoulders of great men and women who have gone before him–from Abraham and Augustine to John Calvin and John Piper.  I hope that he can go to church (any good church!)  and actually worship, rather than allowing a critical and skeptical mind distract him from the true intention of the service.

I’m scrambling to make some of these improvements in my own life, so that I can actually lead by example.  But for the rest, I can only hope and pray that TH will surpass me.  You can do it, kiddo!

2 responses to “From the Archives: Do As I Aspire, Not As I Do

  1. “I hope that he will embrace God and a life of faith; that he will not struggle to believe. I hope that as a child, he will love the stories of Jesus and the Bible, and that he will see God in all that is good, true, and beautiful. I want him to grow up with an appreciation for his place in the history of the church–that he stands on the shoulders of great men and women who have gone before him–from Abraham and Augustine to John Calvin and John Piper.”

    Wonderful aspirations. Good post.

    Brad

  2. such a good post.
    i hope Abby does turn into all those great things, even if she missed out on being the ‘he’ in this post by turning out to be female 😉

Leave a Reply

