Deja Vu All Over Again

YES, I joined a gym AGAIN and started attending Pilates class AGAIN.  I will say this for the class: after a whole year of being dormant, with the exception of walking Abby in her stroller, I actually thought “this feels good!” in the middle of exercising.  I have never felt that way about exercising before.  I’m back at the city gym, so it’s a pretty diverse clientele.  And by that I mean that old people and not-in-shape people come here in addition to the muscle men and ladies.  I feel very at home in my class, doing my “100s” and large leg circles in the company of middle- to advanced- aged ladies (and one man) who are trying to keep their joints limber.  Of course, as soon as I start to get the big head about the fact that my booty still has some shape to it or that I do not lay flat on my mat when I am supposed to be doing corkscrews, it is time to do toe-touches and I’m showed up by everyone else in the room, including Bob.

I really have nothing more profound to say about my new and exciting exercise routine, because as it turns out, I’ve done quite a bit of talking about exercise already:

January 21, 2007: Lean, Mean, Pilates Machine

February 11, 2007: Flex

April 14, 2007: Further Adventures in Exercising

November 3, 2007: Forecast: Ice “Down Under”
(No one got this title when I posted it.  It means Hell is freezing over.)

January 29, 2008: Back on the Exercise Ball

March 21, 2008: Team Effort
(for those of you who are keeping track, this was the shortest-lived of all of my exercising endeavors)

October 21, 2008: Curvaceous

December 5, 2008: Dancing Queen…or not…

May 6, 2009: Self Improvement, Part Infinity
(I did stick with this exercise routine until Abby was born, which I cannot say for the housekeeping regimen I also talked about)

.

So, forgive the shameless self-promotion, but I hope you do click back to these links.  I laughed out loud as I read back through them, especially as I heard myself saying the same thing over and over!   Commitment to exercise is not my strong point, but you’ve got to love my optimism!

3 responses to “Deja Vu All Over Again

  1. Carolyn Dickinson

    I think it’s amazing that ANYONE voluntarily exercises! I can spend days in my house, not even venturing outdoors. However, lately I joined Netflix and bought a Roku player. I ordered a Yoga for Aches and Pains video in my queue and, guess what, I actually DO it most days. It’s 35 min broken into 3 segments. I use a chair and the floor, it’s non strenuous, but since I seriously need more flexibility in my joints, it helps with that. So, I’m happy to have found something that I will do, that I like, that I don’t sweat doing, and that is free!

  2. I like how I am part of a few of these posts (you know, until I had a baby) as we are all trying to figure out the magic exercise regime. I still stick by my zumba, but have been a member of the local Y for a month now and have only attended a handful of classes. Sigh.

    Good luck, girl!

  3. It is no coincidence that my most successful workout stories are the ones that involve you, Karen! Having a workout buddy is awesome.

Leave a Reply

