Chalkboard Paint: Where Have You Been All My Life?

Do you remember why I wanted to become a teacher in the first place?  It was all about writing on the chalkboard.  One of life’s many ironies is that by the time I got into a classroom of my own, all the old chalkboards had been replaced with those soul-less marker boards.  Anyway, I have known of the existence of chalkboard paint for a while, but I always assumed it was too good to be true.  But while clicking around some decorating blogs one night, I saw several really inspired uses of chalkboard paint.  And I thought, “I have got to get in on that!”

My first effort was a birthday gift for my sis-in-law Katy, which I thought turned out pretty well, considering it was my first time:

Buoyed by my success, I tried out a more ambitious project: the random window on my laundry room door.  Previously, I had hung a makeshift curtain in the window.  But this is way more fun:

Now I’ll be honest- I love the overall effect, but I’m a little disappointed by the finished product.  The paint can said that it was okay to use on glass, but it does tend to chip if I write too hard or have a sharp edge on my chalk.  So it’s taken quite a few coats to get a nice sturdy finish.

That’s all I’ve done so far, but I have some fun ideas for my next project.  No surface is safe!

Leave a Reply

