My husband, the genius

Even when I wear socks and slippers around the house in the evening, I always go to bed with cold feet.  My favorite solution is to warm them up on Stephen.  He doesn’t love this, but he’s a pretty good sport about it. 

Early in our marriage, a friend advised Stephen that he could break this habit by putting his cold feet on me first.  When I protested (which of course I would), he could point out the double standard in my behavior and I would be forced to concede defeat.  Unfortunately, this plan was stymied by the fact that I am not fazed by double standards.  “So it’s a double standard.  Add it to the list.” 

Fast forward almost six years: Stephen has at last devised a plan to keep himself unmolested by my icicle-toes.  It’s so simple, he wonders why he didn’t think of it a long time ago.

We have a handy-dandy little heat pack that we made when I was pregnant.  I found the low-tech instructions on the internet: fill a sock with rice and tie a knot in the top.  After 1-2 minutes in the microwave, it’s toasty and comforting, and smells pretty good, too.

So one frosty night, Stephen heated up the rice sock and placed it at the foot of the bed, like the pans of hot coals or hot water bottles of yore.  Voila!  I can curl my toes around the sock to my heart’s content, and Stephen can drift off to sleep without worrying about the frosty White Witch stealing his body heat.  (Incidentally, it’s safer than the other solution we used to resort to on desperate nights, which involved an ancient space heater under the covers.  Don’t tell the Fire Marshall.)

5 responses to “My husband, the genius

  1. Stick with the wooly warmer you call your husband…underneath the protests, you touching him is a gesture of love!

  2. Last year my grandparents gave me an electric blanket–twin-sized, just for my side of the bed. I’m almost giddy when I get into my warm bed at night, and Jon can sleep in peace without me scooching over to steal his warmth. Warmth is a beautiful thing! 🙂

  3. Don’t tell Chris. I think the first method is easier and better, but I am not sure he would agree!

  4. Bottom line: being warm and toasty in bed is heavenly…however you get there.

    P.S. Hi, Brooke! 🙂

  5. I love your solution! It also brings back a sweet memory of spending the night with my grandmother (Crawford) in her tiny little house, where they TURNED OFF the heaters at night for fear of fire. Under the quilt layers, so heavy you could barely lift them, she would slip in a toasty brick which she had warmed on the heater platform before bed. Before I got into bed, she would take it out, leaving a pocket of heavenly warmth for my frozen toes. Warm feet=warm all over! 🙂

Leave a Reply

