Resolved: Do not skip making resolutions

I know I said that my New House Resolutions were going to give me more than enough to worry about for the first half of 2011.  But I just can’t let the real New Year’s go by without more resolutions.  Besides, I made a meal plan and shopping list yesterday.  So I’m feeling some space for more optimism.

1.  Get our dang spending under control.  We’re going on a strict cash-only system for a few months, Dave-Ramsey-style.  For groceries and gas, I’m going to get shopping cards to HEB and Wal-Mart so that I don’t have to carry giant wads of cash, but I’ll still be limited by my finite budget amount.

2.  Write one handrwritten letter per week.  I had been tossing this idea around for a while, and it was confirmed when I read the charming The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.  Letters are awesome, and it’s a dying art.  So I’m going to send some into the universe.  52, to be exact.

3.  Have the most organized house yet.  Every closet, every cabinet.  A place for everything and everything in its place and all that.

4.  Join Amazon prime and shop online for everything possible.  I love getting mail and I hate going to Wal-Mart.  Seems like this might be a good solution.  We’ll be converting to an Amazon credit card so I can even get triple points for all of my online purchases.  So I’ll actually make money by saving money, if I’m reading the fine print correctly.

5.  Write down prayers.  I’m a terribly lazy pray-er, and putting words on paper will provide more accountability to 1) pray, 2) pray thoughtfully, and 3) pray about a variety of topics.  I also think it will be fun to go back and read them in the future.  (Is that a terrible reason to do it?)

6.  Drink 3 glasses of water from my new Tervis Tumbler.   I know that is still way under my recommended intake, so when drinking 3 is easy, I’ll make it more.

7.  As a general rule: Go to bed by 10:30.  Wake up before 7.

8.  And here is what I’ve settled on for my housecleaning schedule:  In the morning, clean the dirtiest part of the house.  In the afternoon, organize something or do a special project.  This is on top of normal chores like keeping up with laundry and keeping clutter put away, which I am in a pretty good habit of doing as I go.

So, okay, people: am I the only one who still makes resolutions?  I’d love to hear (and maybe steal) some of yours.

8 responses to “Resolved: Do not skip making resolutions

  1. These are wonderful resolutions!! I will be stealing some. And I LOVE the Guernsey book… I recommend it every chance I get.

  2. Lindsey, Lindsey, Lindsey… May the force be with you!

  3. I know, January makes me feel so optimistic. I don’t know what it is!

  4. Did you know you can get Amazon Prime for free, just for being a mom? Google “Amazon Mom” to find out more about it. It’s not free forever, depending on how much you spend, etc.

    I like the bedtime/wakeup time resolution. I really need to work on that one!

    I’ve been working on organizing Caleb’s toys. Instead of one big toy bin, I’ve gotten smaller bins for more specific items–farm animals, dinosaurs, blocks, etc. He’s really caught on to the idea, so I may try that with clothing and other things around the house.

    Other than that, I really haven’t thought about resolutions, yet. Hm….

  5. 1. You should use mvelopes. Sign up through the link on my blog and I get something and you get 20% off. Only downside is it costing money. I am trying out mint.com to see if I like it. It’s free.
    2. I LOVE letters and mail! Send me one pretty please! I will write you back! We can be mail-checking nerds together! 🙂
    4. We just got an amazon credit card for that very reason.
    5. No, that is not a terrible reason. I wrote down prayers in college and I like going back to read it.
    6. Love Tervis Tumblers!

    I guess my only resolution is reading the Bible this year, and I am using an app to do that so it really could not get any easier. (And mostly reading while nursing, since that is about 2 hours a day when I am just sitting looking at my iphone anyway). And I am trying to make a home management notebook so I can actually get things done. But I need to find the hole punch first….

    • 1. We do use Mvelopes, but it was too easy to go into the red.
      2. You are on the letter list!
      3. I have added a Bible-reading resolution, too. Good luck!

  6. You are so together. I have no ideas for you to steal because my new year resolution is to do LESS! Imagine that. I have come to the realization that I cannot do it all, and I need (and my family needs me) to stop trying so blasted hard. There might be hot wheels cars strewn about the living room, unmade beds, 8 pairs of shoes stacked by the front door, and laundry that is folded and needing to be put away all over the couch. I have recently stopped caring so much about the orderly-ness of my house, because I would rather nurse Monika to sleep and hold her for an hour, or play with Caleb under his blankets with a flashlight. They are so small only once. When I only had Caleb is was so much easier to keep everything organized and tidy. Monika has thrown a big ole’ monkey wrench in the system…but a very welcome wrench she is!!! I commend you for all of your wonderful resolutions, and one day I will be like you, as I once was, but for now I am going to make shadow puppets on the ceiling for my little boy and read him stories in his igloo tent. Besides…being in the igloo tent blocks out the vision of the mess in my house 🙂

    • I should have mentioned…if we have a second baby this year, all bets are off! Then I will be coming to join you in the igloo. I agree, you have to decide what things are most important!

Leave a Reply

