If Winter Comes, Can Spring Be Far Behind?

I’m sorry to rub it in for those of you who still have to live in cold weather. But for the past two weeks we’ve had beautiful 70-degree days here, and I’ve been laying out on my driveway soaking up the sun like a lizard on a rock. And let me tell you, it’s made a huge difference in my attitude.

I love spring.  I love sunshine.  I love wearing flip-flops when it’s barely warm enough.

Last weekend Stephen built boxes for our spring garden.  Now he’s quickly working on building our back fence so that we can keep the deer out of the garden once we get plants out.

The garden seems so full of hope and potential, doesn’t it?  And it’s no trouble at all, yet.

I love pulling the out-of-season warm clothes off of my hard-to-reach shelves and adding some fresh options to my wardrobe.  I was so tired of my fleeces and long-sleeved t-shirts.    In my excitement, I’ve even added my sleeveless shirts to the rotation.  I just put on a cardigan over them.  Voila!

And what says spring like pink glittery jellies?  I found these on sale, but I would have been tempted by them even if they cost $100.

And…I’m off for more sunshine.

10 responses to “If Winter Comes, Can Spring Be Far Behind?

  1. Valerie Pearson

    I bought Grace two pairs of jellies yesterday (on clearance too)! Here’s to warm weather play days!

  2. Aw, I had pink glittery jellies when I was kid. Rather… I had jellies in nearly every color! Well, with my boys, I have to settle for Spiderman flip-flops, but such miniature versions of our own favorite footwear are super cute nonetheless!

  3. Love the garden boxes! Any plant plans yet?

  4. 1. i love love love the jellies. so adorable. what a big girl.
    2. i have also been LOVING wearing my shorts again. even though i am so cold in the shade, it is worth it to have that glorious sunlight on my skin again!
    warm weather, keep it coming!

  5. Your garden boxes look like they are excited to house little plants! I wish my garden looked so good. I still have to till and add compost, and I have not even decided what veggies to plan this year. What are you going to plant?

  6. Re: Jellies… I wish I had bought them in more than one color! Because I love them, but we could use a clear pair to go with her red clothes, too. Maybe back to the outlet mall…

    Re: Garden… I don’t have a definite plan for the garden, yet. For sure we’ll include the staples: tomatoes, beans, jalapenos, onions, basil. Maybe some just-for-fun things like strawberries and basil. Does anyone know anything about growing potatoes? I saw some “planting potatoes” at the feed store the other day and was intrigued…

  7. FYI for interested parties – the Watsons are using a no-till garden method that you can read about on food4wealth.com. All garden materials are placed right on top of existing soil, with layers of newspaper as a barrier. No equipment needed, and all organic.

  8. and p.s. t0 Lindsey – you must be planning on having basil…

  9. garden area looks great

  10. Jealous, jealous. It snowed again today. Its a sad state when I think 44 F is warm 😦

Leave a Reply

