Five Terrible Love Songs

Since I’ve been on my Thousand Gifts kick, I’ve been uncharacteristically positive for about a month now.  So I don’t feel too bad that this is only one of TWO negative list posts that I’ve been drafting in my head.  Don’t worry, I haven’t fallen off of the thankful wagon; these are just for fun.

5 Terrible Love Songs

1.  “This Kiss” by Faith Hill.  I’ve hated on this one before.  One wish, really?  That you could see the way you kiss?  What a waste of some really fun possibilities.  One, this just doesn’t hold up logically.  Would it really be so amazing to actually be kissing yourself?  Two, it’s completely self-absorbed. Actually, this is true of most of Faith Hill’s love songs.  She could totally dominate this list if I’d let her.

2.  “My Life Would Suck Without You” by Kelly Clarkson.  This is actually a really catchy song.  But this title sentiment is just so un-poetic, I can’t give it a pass.  (Lame confession: I had to use Google to find out who sang this song BEFORE the cast of Glee.)

3.  “Back at One” by Bryan McKnight et al.  It’s not a list!  Why are we counting?

4.  “Elenore” by the Turtles.  This is the song with the punch line “You’re my pride and joy, et cetera.”  This is one of those times that it’d be okay to go ahead and crack open a thesaurus!  I actually just read that this song was meant as a satirical anti-love-song, which makes it much funnier AND not even a love song.  But it gets to stay on the list anyway, because who knows that trivia?

5.  “When You Say Nothing at All” by Allison Krauss.  Trust the voice of experience on this one, girls:  Do Not Assume you know what’s really going on behind those dreamboat eyes.  “That smile on his face” might just mean he’s remembering his mama’s fried chicken.  “That look in his eyes” might mean “It’s great how cool you are with my lack of commitment.”  Go ahead and get him to use his words; you might be surprised.

What songs would you add to this list?

4 responses to “Five Terrible Love Songs

  1. oh back at one..what a classic terrible non-list.

    i can’t think of any others to add..those are all great bad ones..

  2. You should do a list of terrible praise/worship songs… Songs that don’t make sense, or are not theologically sound. Those drive me nuts 🙂

  3. Teddy Bear by Elvis Presley. BTW I heard today that Elvis is not in the top 1000 names for boys for the first time since 1947.

Leave a Reply

