Habakkuk for One of Those Days

Although she woke up too early, and threw fits all day;

Although my paint job needed another coat
and I never did find where those drips landed
and I ran out of paint before I finished the wall;

Although she dirtied three shirts before dinnertime
and dropped her beans on the kitchen floor;

Although Stephen and I had an annoying miscommunication
and my sleeping wedge did not arrive in the mail;

Although the ant bit her on the foot
and today she became tall enough to open the pantry door
and I’ve lost track of the minutes she’s spent in time-out;

Yet I will rejoice in the Lord;
I will take joy in the God of my salvation.

God, the Lord, is my strength;
he makes my feet like the deer’s;
he makes me tread on my high places.

4 responses to “Habakkuk for One of Those Days

  1. I had one of those days today, too.

  2. …today she became tall enough to open the pantry door…enjoy the moments. They don’t last long. 🙂

  3. Sleeping wedge? To put between the two of you?

Leave a Reply

