Train Up a Child

Did you know we got to go to the Desiring God conference in Minneapolis a few weeks ago?  It was wonderful.  The theme of the weekend was global missions, and although I did not feel any new calling to move overseas, I did come home with a new enthusiasm for making more of God in the sphere where I have the most influence–in my own home.

I’m just beginning to brainstorm exactly what this might look like for our family, but here are some resources that I’m turning to for inspiration:

Treasuring God in our Traditions by Noel Piper

This is a short read, but full of practical ideas for incorporating God-centered traditions in ordinary days and “especially” days.

.

Teach Them the Faith by Dan and Karen Vitgo

This is a children’s catechism set to music.  Abby got it for her birthday, and we listen to it daily.  The first time through, you’ll think it’s the most un-catchy music you’ve heard lately (and it’s no “Hey, Mr. Knickerbocker,” to be sure). But you’ll be surprised at how quickly the songs get stuck in your head.  It’s a great way to remind yourself of basic truths from the Bible, not to mention a great teaching tool for kiddos.

A Holy Experience Blog– Ann Voskamp

I don’t mean to be a broken record over here, and I promise I’m not getting paid for all of these shameless plugs.  But gift lists aside, I’ve enjoyed this blog for encouragement and ideas regarding family Bible reading and memory work, prayer times, and peace-creating routines.

The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions

This is a beautiful collection of meaty and thoughtful prayers.  I’m picking out a few of my favorites to pray together often enough that they become part of our family memory.

.

I’m sure I’ll talk more about this topic here, especially with the holidays coming up.  Meanwhile, if you have any suggestions for my reading list, let me know!

One response to “Train Up a Child

  1. So blessed… 🙂

Leave a Reply

