The Very Important Follow Up

Here’s a little blog trivia for you: you hardly ever read a post on the day I actually write it.  I write almost all of my posts on Tuesday mornings at Starbucks, while Stephen and Abby play at the house.  I like to get a couple in a queue, which I can post at more or less even intervals throughout the week.

So my previous post, The Other Little Boy on My Mind This Christmas, had been written but not published, and it was weighing heavily on my mind last Thursday when I found this in my front yard:

It’s a poinsettia nestled up against the trunk of the tree we planted about a month ago in memory of Sam.  And tucked into the leaves was a note:

God hears.

Hadn’t I known that I would forget this?  Isn’t that why I named him Samuel?  And yet I did forget, and someone knew I needed to be reminded.

Jesus tells us that the church is His body, and He reached out to me last week through His people, even before I had told the world that I was struggling.  I received several similar messages Thursday and Friday: “You and Sam popped into my mind this morning–We miss him and we love you!”

On Friday a friend gave me a shirt she had made for me, decorated with a picture of a tree and the verse I Samuel 2:21: “The boy Samuel grew in the presence of the Lord.”

What a reminder!  God holds my baby Sam, and God is holding me and hearing each of my prayers.  Jesus is Immanuel, indeed!

7 responses to “The Very Important Follow Up

  1. Beautiful. You’ve been on my mind, and I’m so glad there are people nearby who can reach out to you for those of us who are far away. Thanks for sharing the struggles as well as the blessings.

  2. Wow. What reminders! Tears came to my eyes as I read this post. Your family is so precious to me. Thank you for sharing this. I am blessed to see how God reminded you that He hears.

    Love,
    Julie

  3. Sweet Lindsey- I have been reading your blog for about a week now, catching up on as many as possible. Your family is so precious. and you have been on my heart and in my mind lately, which was why I looked up your blog! The strangest thing is that a couple of days after I had read your blog, Stephen came into our shop with Abby (he was there to see Jeremy) and I litterally wanted to wrap them both in a huge bear hug, however, the serious look Abby gave me lead me to believe it was a bad idea. I love you, and you are written words are so touching. I know 3 things:
    1. This is not fair.
    2. You will not crumple under the weight.
    3. God is always Good.

  4. Sweet friend, I am so touched by your journey as well as some of my friends who have started to blog-stalk you! Your words are powerful as well as your grace amidst this trial. Love you.

  5. Love it! and yall! 🙂

  6. I cry almost every time I read your blog Lindsey. You are so grounded with God and you are a role model in my life. I see so much of where I fail when I read your about your life and see how faithful you are, even if the most difficult of situations.I am so glad to have met you. I am so sorry about your sweet little Sam, but I am so thankful that we serve a great God who takes care of us in our times of need. I think about you all the time, but I don’t reach out to you and I am sorry. I am so glad that He uses His people as tools to show how great His love is!

  7. Thanks so much for your sweet words, friends!

Leave a Reply

