(It Shouldn’t Have Taken Me Two Years to Figure This Out)

Silly as it may sound, it was quite an epiphany for me the other day when I realized: Abby and I are not the same person.

I started hearing myself: “We need an early nap today.”  “We don’t usually like eggs.”  “We tend to get cranky before dinner.”

It was shocking, and then humbling when I realized how interdependent I have allowed our emotions to become: “Lindsey,” said the voice from the sky.  “Just because Abby is cranky does not mean that you have to be cranky.  Or that you are even allowed to be cranky.  Who is the grown-up here?”

Maybe she did get up too early.  Maybe I don’t feel great.  Maybe we have been off our schedule.  Maybe she is being unreasonable.  But I. Am. The. Mommy.

Hmm.  Easier said than done!

One response to “(It Shouldn’t Have Taken Me Two Years to Figure This Out)

  1. leslie.caroline

    i feel like this should have been clear the day you realized that she didn’t love chocolate. haha

Leave a Reply

