Three Decades

Year 1:  Not that Exciting Yet

I’ve always loved this picture of me with my mom, grandma, and great-grandma.  Have I ever told you that I come from a long line of really remarkable women?  (These are the ones on my mom’s side, but I’m linked to extraordinary women on my Dad’s side, too!)

Year 10:  Date with Dad


The “Double Digits” birthday was a big deal in my family.  To celebrate, I dressed up in my finest outfit (Those blue pumps were some of the first “grown-up” shoes I ever owned.  Don’t they just pop next to those white hose?).  Dad took me on a fancy date to the Olive Garden, where I sipped a Shirley Temple with my meal.

Year 20: Surprise Birthday Party!

My sweet college roommate threw me a surprise party for my 20th birthday.  When I looked through the party pictures today, I was pleasantly surprised to note how many sweet friends in attendance are still in my life today (including my mentor-turned-sister-in-law!).  There was really just one prominent guest who is not longer a part of my life, and that’s a good thing, too.

Can I also say how glad I am to be counting by 10s here?  It lets me avoid all of those painfully awkward high school photos and skip to these that I’m not so ashamed of.

Year 30: Not flirty, but thriving

I promised Leslie I’d show some of these off, so here are some of my favorites from the “photo shoot” we set up so I could get some good family pictures for Father’s Day.

5 responses to “Three Decades

  1. love the pic of you and your dad…totally recognized that backyard and made me think of all the fun memories made on Michaels Drive when we were little!

  2. What a great idea! This is so neat. Glad to be getting your blog now. Leslie, you did a great job with the photos 🙂

  3. Sarah Johnson

    You are beaming in that last picture with you and Steven. Clearly Baby Tres is bringing you great joy…along with the rest of your sweet family.

  4. Happy 30th! Great family photo shoot!

Leave a Reply

