Exclusive Interview: Abby Watson

abbybdayThose of you who read here often may feel like you know my resident preschooler pretty well already. But all you’ve really had access to is my side of the story, and Abby is getting pretty good at speaking for herself these days. So I sat down with her on the eve of her fourth birthday and asked her some questions, which I’m sharing with you today. I did my best to avoid tampering with her answers; on the occasions where I couldn’t help myself, I’ve indicated my comments in italics.

 

Editor: Let’s talk favorites–
Animal? Elephant
Song? Wheels on the Truck
Movie? Barney’s Countdown
Instrument? Flute and Tuba
{Editor’s note: See “Big Dog, Little Dog: A Bedtime Story“}
Food? Macaroni and Cheese
Color? Blue
Place? A hotel

20130827-164624.jpg

What is your favorite thing to do outside?
Run around all crazy in the sprinkler

What is your favorite thing to do inside?
Lay down and take a nap
{Editor’s note: This is a lie.}

What scares you?
When I fall and bonk my head

Who would you most like to meet?
Jesus and Sam

What makes you laugh?
Being upside down in a chair

What makes you happy?
When my mom plays with me and snuggles with me

20130827-164645.jpg

What is your favorite thing about [your little brother] Jem?
I don’t want to answer that question.

If you could have three wishes, what would they be?
To go to the zoo. To go to the museum. To stay in a hotel.
{Editor’s note: The first time I asked this question a couple months ago, one of her wishes was for Mrs. Twitter to be able to go to heaven. Today, apparently, she’s feeling less altruistic.)

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Jesus. You can’t be Jesus. A circus.
{Editor’s note: This ambition is probably more fulfilled now than it will ever be.}

watsons-0208

This morning we took Abby out for a special breakfast. The staff was very friendly all along, but we really got the royal treatment when they found out it was Abby’s birthday. She was treated to a complimentary birthday waffle, and whenwe stood up to leave, one of the cooks came out and gave her a dollar.

As Stephen buckled Abby into her car seat, she remarked, “It’s a good thing they know how to treat a girl on her birthday!”

So, dear girl, it’s no dollar bill, but here’s your special birthday blog post, from Mom. Thanks for all the character building and the comic relief, and {no sarcasm here, not on your birthday} for all the ways you are such a helper to me. I love you!

IMG_1326

7 responses to “Exclusive Interview: Abby Watson

  1. Loved this! What a great idea, and her answers are hilarious (but also somewhat profound).
    And, thank you editor for the (as always) excellent commentary.

  2. just precious-you will surely cherish these comments as she grows up:)

  3. Love this interview. It definitely made me laugh.

  4. love, love, love.

  5. She is so big! Look at her walking those dogs!

  6. Oh, she is precious. I can’t get over how big Abby is! Four years. Really. Thank you for your editor’s notes. They really help. Also, the next time I need a laugh, I’m going to take Abby’s advice and find a chair.

Leave a Reply

