Prayer: Put Your iPhone to Work

31daysbutton

I’m assuming that you do not live in a monastic community with bells chiming at certain hours to remind you to pause to pray. But you probably do have a little device within arms’ reach at all times that can be programmed to give you alerts throughout the day. So put it to work!

I change up my prayer reminders from time to time. Here is what my schedule looks like right now, so you can see one example of how it can look:

20131006-220431.jpg

Obviously, your daily prayers will be different than mine based on your preferences, needs, and schedule. As you think through which prayers might be helpful to schedule on a daily basis, here are a few tips you might want to consider:

  • I like my current prompts because they can be prayed “as-is” if I’m walking through the grocery store or at a playdate. But they also prompt me to elaborate if I’m in a place where I can pause for a few minutes.
  • Keep through-the-day prayer reminders short and focused. This is probably not the format forpraying through your whole list of supplications.
  • …but that’s not to say it’s a bad idea to schedule specific requests. For example, for the past several months I’ve wanted to remember to pray for Amanda every day. I scheduled a reminder at 9:10 because her birthday is 9/09.
  • Consider the rhythms of your day. Schedule helpful prayers when you know you have slumps. For example, I tend to get whiny and grumbly in the late afternoon, so that is why I have a gratitude prayer scheduled for 4 PM.
  • Don’t go crazy with the reminders. If I have more than four or five scheduled throughout the day, I will start ignoring them all. (Also, your constantly pinging phone will be annoying to everyone around you.)

I’ve been trying to practice this habit with extra diligence in preparation for writing this day’s post. It’s pushed me out of my comfort zone, but I’ve appreciated the prompting to confess my sin and express thanksgiving to God every single day. When Abby is around, she usually asks “what is that noise for?” and it’s been a good reminder to let her hear me pray on these topics throughout the day.

The other day, we were standing in the kitchen when we heard a beeping noise. Abby instantly snapped to attention. “It’s time to pray for Amanda!” she announced.

It was only 7:20, and the beeping was actually the washing machine, but I went with it.

Keep Reading: Short and Sweet Sample Prayers

4 responses to “Prayer: Put Your iPhone to Work

  1. from Zechariah 14.20: In that day shall there be upon the bells of the horses, Holiness Unto The Lord; and the pots in the Lord’s house shall be like the bowls before the altar…and even the the buzz of the washer shall call the people to prayer : )

    peace keep you.

  2. I love this idea. I agree, I could easily go overboard scheduling ten prayer alarms a day and ignore all of them. I’ve recently discovered how handy those reminders can be for taking medications on time — I think I’ll add just one alarm for a prayer reminder and see how it goes. I like your idea of a gratitude prayer when I’m most likely to be grumpy.

Leave a Reply

