Concluding Thoughts: Inside a Liturgical Home

31daysbutton

I’ve tried to be as honest as I can here, but I still wonder if I’ll be leaving you with an inaccurate view of what things are like in my home.  Maybe you picture my children sweetly singing their catechism while they organize their All-Saints trading cards.  Or you assume that we only turn on the TV when it’s a re-run of that Luther movie starring Joseph Fiennes.  Or that I sing psalms of praise when Jem wakes up at 5:30 AM, when Abby throws a screaming fit because I offered her mint instead of watermelon flavored gum, or when a 4:30 meeting runs long and makes Stephen late for dinner.

So I wanted to end this series with a little glimpse inside of my liturgical home, and I hope that you’ll be encouraged that it looks a lot like yours.  And if you’re still not convinced, well, read back through any blog post published before October 1!

Children in a Liturgical Home:

DSC02212

This is one of my favorite picture of Abby copping a major attitude in the midst of our Easter pictures.

Screen shot 2012-11-26 at 12.56.06 PM

Until Netflix rolled out that brilliant idea for user profile pages, our home page was dominated by preschool TV recommendations.  (Not that Abby is ever open to new suggestions. We watch Barney and Busytown Mysteries almost exclusively!)

IMG_0544

The people at this fine eating establishment know us by name.

I forgot to mention Cow Appreciation Day in my post about smaller holidays

I forgot to mention Cow Appreciation Day in last week’s post about smaller holidays.  It comes around every July.

IMG_1434

This is a normal day in the life of my living room. (Also, you can notice my kids play with plastic and noise-making toys, in case you confuse “liturgical” with  some variety of natural/green/old-fashioned parenting adjectives.)

photo 2

Abby does not dress like a nun. Rather, she often chooses her own outfits from a lovely selection of hand-me-down items we get from some older cousins, paired with Garanimals separates purchased at Wal-Mart or items found on clearance at Academy.

Exhibit B.

Exhibit B.

I don't even know what to say about this. This is the sort of thing that happens when Stephen is in charge.

I don’t even know what to say about this. This is the sort of thing that happens when Stephen is in charge.

IMG_1596

Also this. Obviously, even fat souls get to be silly sometimes.

IMG_1202

She’s pretending to be a librarian. Note that she reads from a diverse body of literature.

(As do I)

(As do I)

IMG_3781

Normally, of course, we leave the pool singing “Go Now In Peace” in rounds. On this rare occasion, I captured a pouty face instead.

IMG_0954

Primary identity in Christ, yes, but a close second is in being a future Fightin’ Texas Aggie

Inanimate Objects in a Liturgical Home

DSC01015

yucky

I have a chore chart that I (sometimes) follow, and I still find messes everywhere

Again with the kid clutter.

Again with the kid clutter.

IMG_1476

This is my one photo of the house looking peaceful and quiet.  It's from a day I woke up before the kids.  I'm trying to do this more...

This is my one photo of the house looking peaceful and quiet. It’s from a day I woke up before the kids. I’m trying to do this more, but Jem has been waking up super early lately! So the morning routine has been a work in progress…

***

Thanks so much for joining me here this month!  It has truly been a pleasure

Keep Reading: Bibliography and Resources

4 responses to “Concluding Thoughts: Inside a Liturgical Home

  1. Lindsey,
    I have loved reading this series!
    I grew up Baptist and have attended a nondenominational church for the past 14 years, but I find myself drawn to all things liturgical.
    Blessings~

    • Thanks, Juanita! I’m so glad you enjoyed the series. I appreciate many things about our own nondenominational church, but I do like to sneak liturgy into my life whenever I can. 🙂 Hope you find some meaningful ways to do the same!

  2. First I must say I never had those thoughts about your liturgical home. I just thought you were normal throughout this series. I was blessed by it as I am sure many were. Thank you for sharing.

    Second I love the “Duck Dynasty” picture. We love that show and the picture is priceless 🙂

    Thirdly I just wanted to add that my cat woke me up at 4:15am this morning. I am feeling tired for the first time in a while but I will persevere as Halloween is today and I am having family over for dinner and will be answering the door for the trick or treaters and I am praying over my candy and tracks that seeds would be planted, the Gospel read, and God would use us as we answer the door.

    Have a beautiful day!

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed the series! Thanks for your comment. And despite the early start to the day, I hope you had a great Halloween with your family and neighbors! 🙂

Leave a Reply

