7 Quick Shorts

1.  I imagine that a veteran could make easy conversation in any VFW because all he or she has to do is start telling combat stories and boom: instant camaraderie.  I’m discovering that the same thing happens when you get a group of moms talking around the table.  The topic inevitably turns to childbirth, and suddenly everyone has a story to share.  It’s the kind of shared trauma that creates instant bonds of friendship.

2.  I am still working through my trust issues that developed since I finished the Divergent trilogy.  I am scarred but not shocked with terrible things happen to the good guys in a book like Game of Thrones.  But for YA literature, I have simple demands: a good “moody teenage romance” (to borrow a phrase from my book-loving friend Melissa)–including lots of kissing and sexual tension– and marriage and babies at the end.  I don’t think that’s asking too much, Veronica Roth!

Also I got kind of tired of all the secret thoughts and misunderstandings between the main characters in books 2 and 3.  I mean, if I wanted to read about lots of people concealing their true thoughts and motivations while maintaining polite physical boundaries, I’d read Jane Austen. 

3.  Let the record show that for REAL LIFE PEOPLE, I have strong principles against teenage romance of any sort, especially the sort that involves lots of kissing and sexual tension.

4.  In case my mother was not the only person concerned for me after I kicked off the new Commonplace feature with a very solemn quote from Andre Trocme, let me ease your mind with a word of further explanation: The whole theme of David and Goliath is that what we perceive as a great weakness can actually be a great strength.  I thought the quote was a poignant illustration of the idea that a great tragedy will shape us for the rest of our lives, but that is not necessarily a bad thing.  In this case, the loss of the author’s mother opened him up to greater spiritual depths than he would have known otherwise.  (If this is really true, it complicates the way we dream for our children, yes?  I have struggled with this before.)

5.  We’re having the weirdest weather here; it’s switching back and forth between winter and spring about every three days.  I like cold weather in winter in theory, but the truth is that I like feeling cold as much as I like having a scratched cornea.  Here’s my solution: hosiery.  It seems ludicrous, but something about that snug extra layer helps tremendously in keeping the polar vortex at bay.  I wear tights underneath sweatpants, jeans, and even leggings whenever temperatures drop below 40 degrees.  You should, too.

6.  One of the bloggers I follow does a weekly feature called “What I Wore Sunday.”  (And I’m aware there are lots of similar variations out there.)  I surveyed the contents of my closet as was getting dressed this past Sunday, I laughed to myself at what that feature would sound like if I were to do it (which I am not):

Shirt: Target
Cardigan: Target
Scarf: LOFT (my one upscale item that fortunately matches all of my clothing)
Earrings: Target
Pants: Unknown origin; came in a bag of hand-me-downs with labels removed
Tights: Target
Shoes: Payless, 2007 Collection

And that would pretty much describe EVERY combination of dressy outfits I might assemble.

7.  If you’ve been my friend here for a long time you know that my athletic life follows a cycle that looks something like this:

20140203-133550.jpg

So, since the last time I even thought about exercising was in the fall of 2011, I’m due for a new athletic pursuit.  I have some friends who faithfully work out at a nearby gym, and now that Jem is almost fully weaned and no longer taking care of my excess calories, I decided it was time to join them.  I actually WENT to the gym for a tour and pricing information, and what would you know?  That very day we encountered a large, unexpected expense that ate up the money I was going to use on the startup fees.

Obviously, God does not intend for me to exercise.

(Linking up for the first time the the cool kids at Conversion Diary)

12 responses to “7 Quick Shorts

  1. You are such a talented writer. I always enjoy your bits of wisdom. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Teenage years = sexual tension.
    It is part of the life cycle.

    • You are absolutely correct, which is why I do not feel the need to egg on teenage romance in real life. When I’m with real human teenagers, I’m happy to be a mature voice of reasonableness and moderation. With fictional characters, I’m the crazy middle aged lady yelling, “Stop being such a prude and kiss him like you mean it!”

      My pastor husband thanks me for NOT giving this kind of feedback to the students in his youth group. 🙂

  3. Thanks for the followup on #4. I’m sure I was NOT the only person worrying about you. 🙂 But I’m happy to do it.

  4. If I were to wear tights underneath all my clothes every time it was below 40 degrees, I would be wearing tights for about 3 months straight! Texas spoiled me!
    In other news, I have discovered potty training stories to work well at mom-bonding also. 🙂

  5. I am learning that the same instant camaraderie is true with teachers. Every teacher has horror stories to share!

  6. So tell me more about Divergent. I am always dying for good book recommendation. Currently speeding trough Cry, the Beloved Country.

    • It’s a YA book that is being made into a movie this spring, so don’t expect too much. But I thought the first of the books was surprisingly interesting and thought-provoking–the kind you could actually discuss in some interesting detail with a book club. I don’t feel like books 2 and 3 did justice to the unique strengths of the first book, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

