Commonplace: Elisabeth Elliot, Shadow of the Almighty

commonplace graphic

Did you know that Jim Elliot wrote more than just the line, “He is no fool who gives up what he cannot keep in order to gain what he cannot lose?”  Well, you are in for a treat: here are a few more quotes from the intense and inspiring missionary/martyr.

Eternity shall be at once a great eye-opener and a great mouth shutter.  It shall be the Rectifier of all in justice (and how fast is injustice!), the Confirmer of martyrs’ blood, the Explainer of years of labor swallowed up in meaningless ruin on earth.” (emphasis mine)

“Found my prayer list so unstimulating to real prayer that I laid it aside and took the Inter-Varsity hymnal and sang aloud with much heart-warming such songs as seemed to fit my need. This is as decidedly a means of grace as anything Given by God to His people, but how little we use it!”

“Difficulty in getting anything at all from the Word…No fervency in prayer. Disturbance in the house, cold weather, and occasional headaches have made spiritual things less precious this whole week. I find I must drive myself to study, following the ‘ought’ of conscience to gain anything at all from the Scripture, lacking any desire at times.

“It is important to learn respect and obedience to the ‘inner must’ if godliness is to be a state of soul with me. I may no longer depend on pleasant impulses to bring me before the Lord. I must rather respond to principles that I know to be right, whether I feel them to be enjoyable or not.”

Disclaimer: It seems a little mis-representative to post these last two quotes; through most of this book (a collection of letters and journals) Elliot is so excited about prayer and Bible reading that I wonder if I would have even wanted to be his friend.  Maybe it’s because of the fervency of his other writing that I find these confessions of human frailty so encouraging…at any rate, HERE is where I can relate to him.  

Excerpts taken from Shadow of the Almighty: The Life and Testament of Jim Elliot  by Elisabeth Elliot

2 responses to “Commonplace: Elisabeth Elliot, Shadow of the Almighty

  1. Amen! The Cadence women spent time with Elizabeth Elliott at a women’s retreat-such a godly saint!

Leave a Reply

