Post Partum Poetry

Complete sentences have felt a little ambitious for me so far (although I wrote a few practice ones earlier today- stay tuned!!).  But when I’m stuck on the couch with the baby and my phone, and there’s nothing new on Twitter, I CAN use one thumb to type a few words into my Notes app.

I’ve had a fondness for haiku ever since my glory days in the fourth grade classroom, and I’ve had a ridiculous amount of fun channeling my hormonal angst into carefully chosen sentence fragments.  We’re both the better for the fact that my whining is limited to 17 syllables per topic.

So without further ado:

#1

haiku1

#2

haiku2

#3

haiku 3

#4

haiku 4

#5

haiku 6

#6

haiku 5

#7

haiku 8

And finally…not a  haiku but a heartfelt tribute to the great William Carlos Williams and his red wheelbarrow:

#8

haiku 7

6 responses to “Post Partum Poetry

  1. Oh.my.word!!! These hit home! Yes, you, like me are a mother of three. Love you & praying for you!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Oh.my.word!!! These hit home! Yes, you, like me are a mother of three. SO GOOD!!!
    Love you & praying for you!

  3. Laughing my head off! Good thing they’re not newborns forever, amIright?!

Leave a Reply

