Talking again, in a whisper

Since we’re beginning the busiest month of the year, I thought it would be a perfect time to ease out of my blog hiatus. But, shhh! It’s not what you think.

I don’t have guilt about the lack of crafts, busy bags, paleo crock pot meals, and fabulous accent jewelry in my life, so I had believed that I was immune to the whole Pinterest-Mom Inferiority Complex. As it turns out, I had just been falling for it in a different form. I assumed that the other women that I saw online were finding ways to juggle housewifing, parenting small children, homeschooling, community involvement, soul-nourishing hobbies, various deep friendships, AND creative careers. And I was frustrated and discouraged that I just couldn’t even get all those balls in the air, much less keep them there with any kind of grace.

Of course, when I write it down, it sounds so obvious. Of course most people are not doing ALL of that. And probably only a few really gifted, high-capacity women are even doing SEVERAL of those things. But it felt like I was the only one who couldn’t figure out how to have it all.

Over the past couple of months I’ve tried to take an honest inventory of all those expectations that have been lurking in my brain, especially the ones hiding in the corners and under the rugs.  What do I need to be doing? What do I want to be doing? I laid all my answers out on the table, and then tried to sort them:

Keep, as-is
Keep, but pare down/simplify/develop shortcuts
Save for a later season
TRASH

This blog? It gets to come back. I have missed having a place to chat and connect with those of you that I knew were reading along. But it definitely, for sure needed to go into the “pare down” bin. I have not missed all the other stuff that came along with blogging: namely, a nagging sense that I should be writing more consistently, on a carefully selected theme, including pinnable graphics and professional-quality photos, plus putting lots of brain power into branding, platform-building, self-promotion, etc.

So here’s what you can expect from this new, reimagined Running in Circles: Some Words, when I have them.

That’s all.

Today my pastor tweeted a line from a book by Zack Eswine: “Almost anything in life that truly matters will require you do to small, mostly overlooked things, over a long period of time.”  That’s my vision for this quiet little blog, and pretty much for the rest of my life as well.

(Comments are open, as always, if you ever want to whisper back. Thanks for keeping me company here!)

7 responses to “Talking again, in a whisper

  1. Yay! Yay! Yay!
    So excited! And boy, isn’t that the truth:
    “Almost anything in life that truly matters will require you do to small, mostly overlooked things, over a long period of time.”
    Your first whisper and you’re already blowing my mind 🙂

  2. Glad you’re back!!!

    Clint Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Kortney Garrison

    So happy to *see* you in my feed today! Peace keep you this Advent.

  4. Love that tweet and I think it is so true. Yeah, my blog has been very quiet of late, after a running start of… three?… posts. Maybe I’ll get it back in gear, who knows! But glad you are back, you are an inspiration to me. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

